top of page

Double the trouble, double the cake!

For my friends twin daughters, she asked me to create two cakes!


They girls wanted a mermaid and a unicorn. The mermaid cake was super fun to make, with a glamorous mermaid, shells, hearts and spirals in fondant. The other matching cake was a cheeky fondant unicorn, number 5, fondant stars and lolly pops. Both cakes were embellished with edible glitter. The message, Hari Huritau is Happy Birthday in Maori. Check out all the photos from creating the fondant figures to baking the cakes, to the fun at the party of eating them!



The Mermaid

Her tail was a fabulous blue with edible glitter making it look shiny and glamorous for her underwater kingdom. She had lovely dark hair just like the birthday girl, a necklace, hair embellishments and a shell bra-top.



The Unicorn

This cheeky unicorn had fabulous eye lashes, with a mane of rainbow hair to match the colourful fondant lollypops. Her hoofs were tipped in yellow. Her golden horn was put in place with a toothpick to ensure if didn't fall off during travel.



Related Posts

See All

Yoga

Comments


Instagram

See the latest baking adventures on Instagram @roperclaire

latest post

about me

My name is Claire Roper and I'm a 40 something mother of three boys. I love creating and baking in my kitchen for my family and friends. Creating delicious, individual and bespoke decorative cakes, cupcakes and super fun cake toppers. ​

Screenshot%2525202020-10-27%252520at%25252019_edited_edited.jpg
bottom of page