top of page

40th Birthday Cake

Baked for my good friend Eve on her 40th Birthday. Four layer 20 inch butter free sponge cake, filled with jam, cream and fresh strawberries, surrounded with delicious cupcakes.


Toppers

I covered the cake with forty, yes, forty hand made fondant roses, and a scattering of tiny blue flowers. I also included a hand painted fondant butterfly on the side of the cake, and a hand cut name in fondant and painted with edible gold paint. The Cake board is white to offset the overall cake with a gold ribbon.


The drip on the cake is the first time I'd ever attempted a a drip, it was a little thick and almost came out cartoony, which in the end had a pretty cool effect.



Getting started

The vision of this cake was born from a story Eve had told me during a catch up over dinner, when her grandmother a gardener at heart emigrated from Turkey to London, bringing with her, her favourite plant cutting, which is now adorn's Eve's house. I took her love of her grandmother's plants combined that with her life in England and created 40 handmade fondant (English) roses.



Related Posts

See All

Yoga

Comentários


Instagram

See the latest baking adventures on Instagram @roperclaire

latest post

about me

My name is Claire Roper and I'm a 40 something mother of three boys. I love creating and baking in my kitchen for my family and friends. Creating delicious, individual and bespoke decorative cakes, cupcakes and super fun cake toppers. ​

Screenshot%2525202020-10-27%252520at%25252019_edited_edited.jpg
bottom of page