top of page

Galaxy Cake

This galaxy cake was for my eldest son 10th birthday, we headed down to a local hall and had a space themed party, with games and balloons!




Cake

I used my tried and trust chocolate fudge cake recipe with chocolate cream cheese filling, and as it's super difficult to make black icing, I purchased black and dark blue pre-made icing from Spotlight, and used a mix of the two colours, then sprinkled with white food colouring to create a star effect.



Fondant

I created a fondant astronaut using a mixture of white fondant and white gum paste, the astronaut is embellished with gray and white marbled fondant and of course a fondant New Zealand flag!



Planets

I was considering making the planets out of a non edible material, but my son insisted everything needed to be edible, so I turned to rice crispy treats, put in lollypop sticks and then covered the planets in different Fondant patterns. The kids ate the planets like lollypops.



Cakeboard

The cake board I left uncovered so the cake would reflect and give that space effect. I purchased the 10 from my friends at spotlight.




Related Posts

See All

Comentários


Instagram

See the latest baking adventures on Instagram @roperclaire

latest post

about me

My name is Claire Roper and I'm a 40 something mother of three boys. I love creating and baking in my kitchen for my family and friends. Creating delicious, individual and bespoke decorative cakes, cupcakes and super fun cake toppers. ​

Screenshot%2525202020-10-27%252520at%25252019_edited_edited.jpg
bottom of page